GeoPRISMS sessions of interest at the 2018 AGU Fall Meeting

Every year the GeoPRISMS Office compiles a list of AGU Fall Meeting special sessions that are identified as directly supporting the scientific goals of the GeoPRISMS (and MARGINS) Programs or of interest to the GeoPRISMS community. Your session is not listed? Email us at info <at> and we’ll be happy to include your session to the list.


T11B. T12B. T13F. Observations and models of multiphase deformation in rifts and rifted margins
Monday 08:00- 12:20 (Liberty M)
Monday 13:40-18:00 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: John Naliboff (U. of California, Davis), Rebecca E Bell (Imperial College London), Jolante van Wijk (New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology), Scott E K Bennett (USGS)

T11C. T12C. T13C. T21F. T21G. Subduction top to bottom-2
Monday 08:00 – 12:20 (Liberty L)
Monday 13:40 – 15:40 (Liberty L)
Tuesday 08:00 – 12:20 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: David William Scholl (U. of Alaska Fairbanks), Gray E Bebout (Lehigh U.), Laura M Wallace (U. of Texas at Austin)

T13H. T24B. Synthesis: Knowns and unknowns of the Cascadia Subduction Zone
Monday 13:40-18:00 (Poster Hall A-C)
Tuesday 16:00-18:00 (Liberty L)
Conveners: Helen A Janiszewski (Carnegie Institution for Science), Wenyuan Fan (Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution), Ikuko Wada (U. of Minnesota Twin Cities), Caroline Seyler (McGill U.)

T13I. T21C. Three-dimensional fault architecture and geometrical Segmentation from fault observations to seismic hazard assessment
Monday 13:40 – 18:00 (Poster Hall A-C)
Tuesday 08:00-10:00 (Liberty M)
Conveners: Valerie J Sahakian (U. of Oregon), Isabelle Manighetti (GEOAZUR-OCA), Ruth Harris (U.S. Geological Survey), Neal W Driscoll (Scripps Institution of Oceanog)

T13D. T22C. Whose fault is it? Relating structural and compositional heterogeneity to slip behavior
Monday 13:40 – 18:00 (Poster Hall A-C)
Tuesday 10:20 – 12:20 (Liberty M)
Conveners: Hannah S Rabinowitz (Brown U.), Helen A Janiszewski (Carnegie Institution for Science), Ake Fagereng (Cardiff U.), Samer Naif (LDEO)

T21E. T32B. Flow and fracture: Mixed brittle-viscous behavior throughout the lithosphere
Tuesday 08:00- 12:20 (Poster Hall A-C)
Wednesday 10:20-12:20 (Liberty L)
Conveners: Christie D Rowe (McGill U.), Whitney M Behr (U. of Texas at Austin), Christopher C Gerbi (U. of Maine), Andre R Niemeijer (Utrecht U. – Faculty of Geosciences – HPT Laboratory)

T22B. T31H. Volatile cycling in subduction zones: Fluid inputs, pathways and outputs, and their impact on geodynamic processes and natural hazards
Tuesday 10:20 – 12:20 (Liberty L)
Wednesday 08:00 – 12:20 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: Stephen Paul Hicks (U. of Southampton), George Frederick Cooper (U. of Durham), Lidong Bie (U. of Liverpool), Richard Gareth Davy (Imperial College London)

T23E. T33B. Oceanic lithosphere: Structure and evolution from creation to destruction
Tuesday 13:40 – 18:00 (Poster Hall A-C)
Wednesday 13:40-15:40 (Liberty M)
Conveners: Adrian K Doran (Scripps Institution of Oceanography), Jennifer Harding (U. of Texas, Institute for Geophysics), Zhitu Ma (Brown U.)

T33D. T42B. Bridging earthquakes and Earth structure: Reconciling deformation observed over geologic and geodetic timescales
Wednesday 13:40 – 18:00 (Poster Hall A-C)
Thursday 10:20 – 12:20 (Liberty I-K)
Conveners: Curtis William Baden (Stanford U.), Kaj M Johnson (Indiana U.), George E Hilley (Stanford U.), Johanna M Nevitt (U.S. Geological Survey)

T41G. T41H. T51C. T52C. Shallow subduction zone structure and dynamics
Thursday 13:40 – 18:00 (Poster Hall A-C)
Friday 08:00 – 12:20 (Liberty N-P)
Conveners: Hongfeng Yang (Chinese U. of Hong Kong), Douglas Wiens (Washington U. in St Louis), Shuichi Kodaira (Yokohama National U.), Yan Hu (U. of Science and Technology of China)

T44A. T51E. Exploring subduction initiation processes and subduction zone dynamics: New insights from scientific drilling, marine geophysics, and ophiolites
Thursday 16:00- 18:00 (Liberty L)
Friday 8:00-12:20 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: Joann M Stock (California Institute of Technology), Brandon Shuck (U. of Texas at Austin), Anders John McCarthy (U. of Bristol), Marco Maffione (U. of Birmingham)

T51I. T53C. T54C. Subduction zone processes at the Hikurangi Margin, New Zealand
Friday 08:00- 12:20 (Poster Hall A-C)
Friday 13:40-18:00 (Liberty N-P)
Conveners: Laura M Wallace (GNS Science U. of Texas Institute for Geophysics), Rebecca E Bell (Imperial College London), Kimihiro Mochizuki (U. of Tokyo), Demian M Saffer (Pennsylvania State U.)


S31C. S33A. Emerging science from the EarthScope Transportable Array in Alaska and Canada
Wednesday 8:00 – 12:20 (Poster Hall A-C)
Wednesday 13:40 – 15:40 (Independence D)
Conveners: Natalia A Ruppert (U. of Alaska Fairbanks), Richard C Aster (Colorado State U.), Hersh J Gilbert (U. of Calgary)

S41E. The role of slow slip events in the earthquake cycle: Stressing, triggering, and hazard
Thursday 8:00-12:20 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: Bill Fry (GNS Science), Matt Gerstenberger (GNS Science-Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences Ltd), Yoshihiro Kaneko (GNS Science)

S41B. S42B. S51D. Environmental seismology: Using geophysical tools for Earth surface processes research
Thursday 8:00 – 12:20 (Independence F-H)
Friday 8:00-12:20 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: Danica L Roth (U. of Oregon), Aurélien Mordret (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Bradley Paul Lipovsky (Harvard U.), Michael Dietze (Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum)


V11C. V12C. V13D. Volcano seismology and acoustics: Recent advances in understanding volcanic processes
Monday 08:00 – 12:20 (Capitol/Congress)
Monday 13:40 – 18:00 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: Alexandra M Iezzi (Geophysical Institute Fairbanks), Diana C. Roman (Carnegie Institution for Science), Benoit Taisne (Asian School of the Environment), Weston A Thelen (USGS Cascades Volcano Observatory)

V11D. Chemistry and physics of redox reactions in the solid Earth
Monday 8:00 – 12:20 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: Fred A Davis (U. of Minnesota Duluth), Maryjo N Brounce (U. of California Riverside)

V11F. Sulfur: A unique player for redox evolution, volatile degassing, and metal transport in magmatic, volcanic, and hydrothermal systems
Monday 08:00 – 12:20 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: Xiaofei Pu (U. of Michigan), Adrian Fiege (American Museum of Natural History), Tobias P Fischer (U. of New Mexico), Rita C Economos (Southern Methodist U.)

V23C. V24A. V31H. Magmatic systems and their interactions with tectonic processes in rifts, arcs, ridges, and volcanic fields
Tuesday 13:40 – 18:00 (Liberty I-K)
Wednesday 08:00 – 12:00 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: Christelle Wauthier (Pennsylvania State U.), Erin DiMaggio (Arizona State U.), Sara Mana (Salem State U.), James D Muirhead (Syracuse U.)

V33C. Accessorize it: Controls on the mobility of trace elements during subduction
Wednesday 13:40 – 18:00 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: Alicia M Cruz-Uribe (U. of Maine), Maureen D Feineman (Pennsylvania State U.)

Study of Earth’s Deep Interior

DI11A. DI12A. DI13B. Advances in understanding Earth’s dynamic processes using seismic anisotropy
Monday 08:00 – 12:20 (Archives)
Monday 13:40 – 18:00 (Poster Hall A-C)
Conveners: Margarete Ann Jadamec (SUNY at Buffalo), Maureen D Long (Yale U.), Manuele Faccenda (U. di Padova)

One Reply to “GeoPRISMS sessions of interest at the 2018 AGU Fall Meeting”

  1. Pingback: Tomorrow: GeoPRISMS Townhall and Community/Student Forum at AGU – GeoPRISMS

Comments are closed.